Anthony A. Woods Award (The Beckie) - Past Winners

2015/2016 Winner

Greg Hildebrand, M. Sc.(Eng). C.E.T

Greg Hildebrand, M. Sc.(Eng). C.E.T

Greg attained an Honours Diploma in Biochemical Technology with Distinction from Durham College in 1980, followed by a Masters of Science (Façade Engineering) degree from the University of Bath, U.K. in 2003.

Greg started his career at the Ontario Research Foundation in 1980 and spent the next eleven years in the research and development field relating to corrosion and electrochemistry and building science with the ten-year development of a large-scale building science laboratory.  Over this period Greg worked on a number of high profile research projects including: establishing heat build-up characteristics of residential wiring encapsulated in polyurethane foam insulation, the performance of masonry air barriers and thermal attributes of sealed insulating glass units incorporating new low emissivity coatings and argon fills, to name a few.   In 1991 Greg joined a motley crew which included,  Gus Handegord, Eric Burnett, John Timusk and James Lischkoff at exp Services Inc. (formerly Trow Inc.) as Head of the Façade Engineering Group.  In addition to his responsibilities as Head of the Façade Group, in 2013 he was also appointed the Assistant Manager of the Building Engineering Team, which encompasses the Concrete Rehabilitation Group, the Façade Group, the Condominium Group, the New Construction Group, the Roofing Group and the Structural Group. 

Since the early 1980’s Greg has been and remains an active participant a number of building related standard committees,

  • CSA - Canadian Standards Association, CSA A440 Technical Committee (Vice-Chair)

"Window Energy Labelling" CAN/CSA A440.2-M98

  • CSA - Canadian Standards Association, (Chair) Technical Committee "Window Installation" CAN/CSA A440.4-07
  • CSA - Canadian Standards Association -, Founding member, “Building Guards”, CSA A500-16.
  • CSA - Canadian Standards Association, Technical Committee “Fenestration energy performance/User Guide to CSA A440.2-14, Fenestration energy performance,” CSA A440.2-14/A440.3-14
  • NAFS - North American Fenestration Standard, Canadian Chair, “NAFS 2011 — “North American Fenestration Standard/Specification for windows, doors, and skylights,” Joint Document Management Committee, AAMA/WDMA/CSA 101/I.S.2/A440-11 (Canadian Chair).

Greg is also an active member of a number of industry and professional associations 

  • Fenestration Canada (formerly CWDMA - Canadian Window and Door Manufacturers Association)
  • NACE - National Association of Corrosion Engineers           
  • NIBS, National Institute of Building Sciences, Washington D.C. 
  • OACETT - Ontario Association of Certified Technicians and Technologists
  • IGMA – Insulating Glass Manufactures Alliance.
  • ASTM – American Society for Testing and Materials, Committee E06, “Performance of Buildings”

Greg has presented at numerous local (OBEC) and national building envelope conferences including a recent presentation at the 14th Canadian Conference on Building Science and Technology in Toronto.  Together with Dave Prohaska, P. Eng., Greg taught the Window & Curtain Wall Systems course which was part of the Building Science Certificate Program at the University of Toronto.  Similar courses were also provided to the Toronto Construction Association

2014/2015 Winner

Dr. Ted Kesik, P.Eng.

Dr. Ted Kesik, P.Eng.

Ted Kesik is a professor of building science in the John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape and Design at the University of Toronto. He entered the construction industry in 1974 and has since gained extensive experience in the various aspects of building enclosure design, energy modeling and systems integration.

Professor Kesik’s research interests include high performance buildings, durability, life cycle assessment, and sustainability. Dr. Kesik continues to practice professionally as a consulting engineer to leading architectural offices, forward thinking enterprises and progressive government agencies. He remains actively involved in technical organizations and is the author of numerous books, studies, reports and articles related to his areas of research and professional practice.

2013/2014 Winner

Kevin Day, Dryvit

Devin Day, Dryvit

Kevin is a leading expert on building enclosure technologies, and is widely recognized for his extensive cladding engineering experience. Kevin is also a popular public speaker, having traveled across North America to communicate best building practices. His main role is managing the sales, technical development, and marketing of Dryvit's architectural products in Canada.

Kevin's key contributions to building science include: authoring Designing EIFS for a Predictable Service Life (2001), Practical Requirements for Rainscreen EIFS (2002) and Taking the LEED with Durability (MRc8). Kevin has been a member of the BSSO faculty since its inception, and is a former member of CSA-A440.4, and its Committee on window installation, as well as former Chairman of ULC-S716. Kevin is a former President of OBEC and current Vice-Chairman of the EIFS Council of Canada.

Previous Winners

2015/2016 Greg Hildebrand
2014/2015 Ted Kesik
2013/2014 Kevin Day
2012/2013 George Torok
2011/2012 Dale Kerr
2010/2011 Mark Brook
2009/2010 Stephen Carpenter
2008/2009 Peter Halsall
2007/2008 Kim Pressnail
2006/2007 Don Fugler
2005/2006 Mike VanDusen
2004/2005 John Straube
2003/2004 Donald Onysko
2002/2003 Alan Dalgliesh
2001/2002 Robert Platts
2000/2001 Joe Lstiburek
1999/2000 Jerry Genge
1998/1999 Mark Bomberg
1997/1998 Eric Burnett
1996 Paul Sandori
1995 Robert Drysdale
1994 ONHWP
1993 Jacques Rousseau
1992 Richard Quirouette
1991 Tony Woods
1990 Gus Handegord
1989 John Timusk



Introducing OBEC Corporate Members